« Back to FAQ

Why do I have to check my email each time I sign in on a new device?

We send an email to the address we have registered for you each time we detect a sign in online or in to VNC Viewer on a new device.

This is to keep you safe in case someone knows or guesses your RealVNC account credentials (email address and password). You can check the time and location of the sign in activity in the email and authorize it to continue if you know it was you. If not, then do nothing and we won’t let that person sign in.

You can suppress these device authorization emails by turning on 2-step verification for your RealVNC account. To do this, sign in online and follow the instructions on the Security page.

×