• Documentation
  • »
  • User Guide

Contents

About This Guide

Chapter 1: Introduction

Principles of VNC remote control

Getting the computers ready to use

Connectivity and feature matrix

What to read next

Chapter 2: Getting Connected

Step 1: Ensure VNC Server is running on the host computer

Step 2: Start VNC Viewer on the client computer

Step 3: Identify VNC Server running on the host computer

Step 4: Request an encrypted connection

Step 5: Connect to VNC Server

Troubleshooting connection

Chapter 3: Using VNC Viewer

Starting VNC Viewer

Starting Listening VNC Viewer

Configuring VNC Viewer before you connect

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer user experience

Using the toolbar

Using the shortcut menu

Using the VNC Viewer - Options dialog

Managing the current connection

Changing appearance and behavior

Restricting access to features

Chapter 4: Connecting From A Web Browser

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer for Java user experience

Working with VNC Viewer for Java

Chapter 5: Exchanging Information

Printing host computer files to a local printer

Transfering files between client and host computers

Copying and pasting text between client and host computers

Communicating securely using chat

Chapter 6: Setting Up VNC Server

Licensing VNC Server

Starting VNC Server

Running multiple instances of VNC Server

Working with VNC Server

Configuring ports

Notifying when users connect

Preventing connections to VNC Server

Restricting functionality for connected users

Stopping VNC Server

Chapter 7: Making Connections Secure

Authenticating connections to VNC Server

Relaxing the authentication rules

Bypassing the authentication rules

Changing the encryption rules

Preventing particular connections to VNC Server

Restricting features for particular connected users

Uniquely identifying VNC Server

Protecting privacy

Appendix A: Saving Connections

Saving connections to VNC Address Book

Using VNC Address Book to connect

Managing connections using VNC Address Book

Saving connections to desktop icons

Previous Next Appendix A, Saving Connections

Managing connections using VNC Address Book

This section explains VNC Address Book features and operations.

Starting VNC Address Book

To start VNC Address Book:

•  Under Windows, select RealVNC > VNC Address Book from the Start menu.

Note: Under Windows, you can start VNC Address Book automatically when the computer is powered on. To do this, select Tools > Options and, in the UI behavior area, turn on Start with Windows.

•  Under UNIX/Linux, select Applications > Internet > VNC Address Book from the menu system, or search for this application using the standard operating system facility.

Note: If no menu system or search facility is available, open a Terminal window, run the command vncaddrbook, and press the ENTER key. Note you should not do this as a user with administrative privileges.

•  Under Mac OS X, navigate to the Applications > RealVNC folder, and double-click the VNC Address Book program.

Working with VNC Address Book

Under Windows, while VNC Address Book is running, a VNC Address Book icon is displayed in the Notification area. Under Windows 7, note this is hidden by default and accessible from to the right of the Taskbar:

Under Windows XP, the icon may be hidden by other icons.

Note: Under UNIX/Linux and Mac OS X, no VNC Address Book icon is available. However, most operations explained below can be performed from the VNC Address Book dialog.

The VNC Address Book icon:

•  Provides visual confirmation that VNC Address Book is running on the client computer. If the icon is not available, then VNC Address Book is not running.

•  Has a shortcut menu that performs useful operations:

The following table explains the effect of selecting each VNC Address Book shortcut menu option.

Option

Purpose

Connect to

Choose a host computer to connect to.

Launch VNC Viewer

Start VNC Viewer, enabling you to connect to a new host computer in the standard way. For more information, see Connecting to a host computer.

Open Address Book

Create new connections or edit and organize existing ones. (Alternatively, double-click the VNC Address Book icon to open the VNC Address Book dialog.)

Exit

Close VNC Address Book.

Organizing connections

VNC Address Book organizes connections both alphabetically and hierarchically:

You can reorganize connections in the Hierarchical list. (The Alphabetic list is automatically organized.)

Click the New Folder toolbar button to create folders in the Hierarchical list. You can drag-and-drop connections to, from, and between folders. Note that if you delete a folder, all connections in that folder are deleted too.

Editing connections

You can edit an existing connection. Note you may be required to enter the VNC Address Book master password first.

To do this, select a connection in the Alphabetic or Hierarchical list, and either:

•  Click the Properties toolbar button.

•  Select Edit > Properties.

For more information on editing VNC Viewer options, start with Configuring VNC Viewer before you connect.

To rename a connection in VNC Address Book, select it in the Alphabetic or Hierarchical list and select Edit > Rename, or right-click and select Rename from the shortcut menu.

Sharing connections

You can share one or more connections with other fully-featured VNC Viewer users. Note that VNC Server passwords are also shared, albeit in obfuscated or encrypted form.

To share:

•  All VNC Address Book connections, select Tools > Export Address Book.

•  A single connection, right-click it in the Alphabetic or Hierarchical list and, from the shortcut menu, select Export.

Choose a location for the exported file. If the file contains a protected connection (one in which the VNC Server password was saved and encrypted), the recipient will need your VNC Address Book master password in order to import it.

You can import one or more connections shared by other fully-featured VNC Viewer users. To do this, select Tools > Import Address Book, and select the file to import. If the file contains a protected connection, you will need the VNC Address Book master password of the user who created the file in order to import it.

Removing connections

To remove a connection, select it in the Alphabetical or Hierarchical list, and either:

•  Click the Delete toolbar button.

•  Select Edit > Delete.

Working with the master password

If you chose to encrypt a VNC Server password when you saved a connection to a host computer, you created a protected connection.

VNC Address Book secures protected connections using the master password. You must enter the master password in order to perform an operation on a protected connection, for example connecting to the host computer, or editing the connection.

Note: You do not have to enter the master password in order to perform operations on connections for which the VNC Server password was not saved, or was saved in obfuscated, though not encrypted, form. For more information on saving VNC Server passwords, start with Saving the current connection.

By default, VNC Address Book remembers the master password for one hour. This means you have sixty minutes after you first enter it in order to perform an operation on a protected connection. To change this, and require the entry of the master password, select:

•  Tools > Forget Master Password to require the entry of the master password for the next operation on a protected connection.

•  Tools > Options and, in the Master password area, turn off Remember for to require the entry of the master password for all future operations on protected connections. (Alternatively, you can decrease the length of time the master password is remembered.)

Note: The Status Bar reports Master Password: Stored if you do not currently need to enter the master password, and Master Password: Required if you do.

To change the master password, select Tools > Options and, in the Master password area, click the Change button.