• Documentation
  • »
  • User Guide

Contents

About This Guide

Chapter 1: Introduction

Principles of VNC remote control

Getting the computers ready to use

Connectivity and feature matrix

What to read next

Chapter 2: Getting Connected

Step 1: Ensure VNC Server is running on the host computer

Step 2: Start VNC Viewer on the client computer

Step 3: Identify VNC Server running on the host computer

Step 4: Request an encrypted connection

Step 5: Connect to VNC Server

Troubleshooting connection

Chapter 3: Using VNC Viewer

Starting VNC Viewer

Starting Listening VNC Viewer

Configuring VNC Viewer before you connect

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer user experience

Using the toolbar

Using the shortcut menu

Using the VNC Viewer - Options dialog

Managing the current connection

Changing appearance and behavior

Restricting access to features

Chapter 4: Connecting From A Web Browser

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer for Java user experience

Working with VNC Viewer for Java

Chapter 5: Exchanging Information

Printing host computer files to a local printer

Transfering files between client and host computers

Copying and pasting text between client and host computers

Communicating securely using chat

Chapter 6: Setting Up VNC Server

Licensing VNC Server

Starting VNC Server

Running multiple instances of VNC Server

Working with VNC Server

Configuring ports

Notifying when users connect

Preventing connections to VNC Server

Restricting functionality for connected users

Stopping VNC Server

Chapter 7: Making Connections Secure

Authenticating connections to VNC Server

Relaxing the authentication rules

Bypassing the authentication rules

Changing the encryption rules

Preventing particular connections to VNC Server

Restricting features for particular connected users

Uniquely identifying VNC Server

Protecting privacy

Appendix A: Saving Connections

Saving connections to VNC Address Book

Using VNC Address Book to connect

Managing connections using VNC Address Book

Saving connections to desktop icons

Previous Next Chapter 7, Making Connections Secure

Preventing particular connections to VNC Server

You can prevent particular users connecting to VNC Server. You can either:

•  Prevent connections from particular client computers. See Preventing connections from particular client computers.

•  Prevent particular users connecting. See Preventing particular users connecting.

Note: You can prevent all users connecting to VNC Server. For more information, see Preventing connections to VNC Server.

Preventing connections from particular client computers

You can prevent all connections originating from particular client computers by filtering the network addresses of those client computers.

Note: If you filter network addresses, users can no longer enter host computer IPv6 network addresses in order to connect to VNC Server (even from an authorized client computer).

To filter network addresses, open the VNC Server - Options dialog. More on this dialog. On the Connections tab, click the IP Filter button:

By default, connection requests are accepted from all client computers. To reject connection requests from a particular client computer, click the Add button:

Specify the network address, or range of addresses, in IPv4 format, and then choose one of the following options.

Option

Explanation

Accept the connection

Accepts connection requests from the specified client computer(s).

Reject the connection

Rejects connection requests from the specified client computer(s).

Ask the VNC Server user what to do

Displays connection prompts enabling a host computer user to either accept connection requests, allow ‘view only’ access, or reject requests from the specified client computer(s). If no host computer user is present, connection requests are automatically rejected after 10 seconds.

For more information on connection prompts, see Preventing particular users connecting.

Note that if you do filter network addresses, the order of rules in the VNC Server - Filter Rules dialog is important. The first matching rule determines what happens to connection requests from a particular client computer. For example, if a rule rejecting a client computer is encountered before one accepting it, then all connection requests from that client computer will be rejected. You can move rules up and down in the dialog using the arrows.

By default, the Default rule accepts connection requests from all client computers. You can change this so that it rejects or queries all connection requests instead. To do this, select the Default rule, and click the Edit button. Note this rule is always last in the dialog.

Preventing particular users connecting

You can prevent a particular user connecting by causing a connection prompt to appear on the host computer’s desktop:

A connection prompt enables a host computer user (if one is present), or an already-connected user, to identify the connecting user and either accept the connection request, allow ‘view only’ access to the host computer, or reject it. If no response is received within ten seconds, then the connection request is automatically rejected. Note that if you are setting up VNC Server on your own computer for remote access then enabling this feature may prevent you connecting.

Note: In some circumstances, certain users connecting to VNC Server (Enterprise) or VNC Server (Personal) are able to bypass connection prompts. To submit these users to prompts, revoke the Connect without accept/reject prompt VNC permission. For more information, see Customizing VNC permissions.

To display connection prompts, open the VNC Server - Options dialog. More on this dialog. On the Connections tab, choose Show accept/reject prompt from the When VNC Viewers connect dropdown:

In certain circumstances, you may be able to conditionally display connection prompts:

•  For VNC Server in Service Mode (Windows and Mac OS X), choose Show prompt only if user logged on in order to automatically accept connections when no host computer user is currently logged on (and therefore unlikely to be present). Note that at least one newly-connected user must then log on to the operating system of the host computer in order to continue. Subsequently, connection prompts are displayed again, for this user to accept or reject.

•  For VNC Server in Virtual Mode (UNIX/Linux), choose Show prompt only if user connected to automatically accept the first connection (since no host computer user can be ‘present’ at a virtual desktop). Subsequently, connection prompts are displayed again, for this user to accept or reject.

For more information on notifications, see Notifying when users connect.