• Documentation
  • »
  • User Guide

Contents

About This Guide

Chapter 1: Introduction

Principles of VNC remote control

Getting the computers ready to use

Connectivity and feature matrix

What to read next

Chapter 2: Getting Connected

Step 1: Ensure VNC Server is running on the host computer

Step 2: Start VNC Viewer on the client computer

Step 3: Identify VNC Server running on the host computer

Step 4: Request an encrypted connection

Step 5: Connect to VNC Server

Troubleshooting connection

Chapter 3: Using VNC Viewer

Starting VNC Viewer

Starting Listening VNC Viewer

Configuring VNC Viewer before you connect

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer user experience

Using the toolbar

Using the shortcut menu

Using the VNC Viewer - Options dialog

Managing the current connection

Changing appearance and behavior

Restricting access to features

Chapter 4: Connecting From A Web Browser

Connecting to a host computer

The VNC Viewer for Java user experience

Working with VNC Viewer for Java

Chapter 5: Exchanging Information

Printing host computer files to a local printer

Transfering files between client and host computers

Copying and pasting text between client and host computers

Communicating securely using chat

Chapter 6: Setting Up VNC Server

Licensing VNC Server

Starting VNC Server

Running multiple instances of VNC Server

Working with VNC Server

Configuring ports

Notifying when users connect

Preventing connections to VNC Server

Restricting functionality for connected users

Stopping VNC Server

Chapter 7: Making Connections Secure

Authenticating connections to VNC Server

Relaxing the authentication rules

Bypassing the authentication rules

Changing the encryption rules

Preventing particular connections to VNC Server

Restricting features for particular connected users

Uniquely identifying VNC Server

Protecting privacy

Appendix A: Saving Connections

Saving connections to VNC Address Book

Using VNC Address Book to connect

Managing connections using VNC Address Book

Saving connections to desktop icons

Previous Next Chapter 6, Setting Up VNC Server

Notifying when users connect

By default, VNC Server displays a notification message in the bottom right corner of the host computer’s desktop (top right under Mac OS X) each time a user connects:

Note: A similar message appears on disconnection.

You can choose different notification options on the Connections tab of the VNC Server - Options dialog. More on this dialog.

Preventing notification messages

You can disable notification messages on connection and disconnection. To do this, choose Do nothing.

Displaying connection prompts

You can replace messages with connection prompts that enable a host computer user (or an already-connected user) to accept or reject new users. To do this, choose Show accept/reject prompt.

Note: Some users (those with sufficient VNC permissions) are able to bypass connection prompts.

Alternatively, you can conditionally replace messages with connection prompts so that they only appear when a host computer user is ‘present’ to accept or reject them. To do this, choose Show prompt only if user logged on (Service Mode) or Show prompt only if user connected (Virtual Mode). For more information, see Preventing particular users connecting.